New Democrat leader names Mike Farnworth House Leader, Michelle Mungall Deputy

Posted in: ,

June 20, 2014

VANCOUVER – Port Coquitlam MLA Mike Farnworth has been named Opposition House Leader by New Democrat Leader John Horgan.

“Mike Farnworth brings a wealth of experience in parliamentary procedure and leadership,” said Horgan. “His leadership will help ensure our New Democrat team is united and effective at challenging the B.C. Liberal government for its failures to make life easier and more affordable for B.C. families.”

Horgan also announced that Nelson-Creston MLA Michelle Mungall will serve as Deputy House Leader.

“Our team has the benefit of tremendous energy and innovation from many young MLAs,” said Horgan. “Michelle Mungall is a young leader with a strong record of holding the B.C. Liberals to account for policies that hurt hard-working British Columbians.

Horgan offered his thanks to Surrey-Whalley MLA Bruce Ralston, who has been the interim house leader since March and Surrey-Green Timbers MLA Sue Hammell, who has served as deputy house leader since 2011. Ralston continues to serve as Chair of the Select Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

At a Friday caucus meeting, Vancouver-Hastings MLA Shane Simpson, Burnaby-Deer Lake MLA Kathy Corrigan, Esquimalt-Royal Roads MLA Maurine Karagianis and Alberni-Pacific Rim MLA Scott Fraser were also unanimously reconfirmed as caucus chair, deputy chair, whip and deputy whip, respectively.